Saudi Arabia, UAE, Bahrain, Egypt Cut Diplomatic Ties With Qatar

This post was originally published on 5 June 2017 and the content may be outdated.

In a shocking turn of events, four major countries of the MENA region – Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Egypt – have called off their diplomatic relations with the State of Qatar.

The surprising announcement came on Monday as tensions escalate in the region over accusations of Qatar supporting terrorist organisations.

  • The Saudi Arabian government announced that it was severing ties with Qatar and thereby pulled all Qatari troops from the ongoing war in Yemen.

The announcement was made early on Monday via the Saudi News Agency, which also stated that the Kingdom was taking the action for the protection of national security.

Saudi also closed the border and halted air and sea traffic with Qatar, urging “all brotherly countries and companies to do the same”, Al Jazeera reported.

Saudi Arabia is the only country to have land access to Qatar and the border closure can seriously impact trade and logistic supplies.

However, Saudi Arabia said that it will continue to provide all services and facilities needed by Qatari pilgrims currently in the Kingdom.

UAE cuts air, sea movement with Qatar

The United Arab Emirates has restricted all air and sea movement with Qatar.

  • Qatari citizens have been informed by the UAE that they have 14 days to leave, while citizens from Qatar have also been banned from passing through the UAE. Emiratis are now banned from visiting or even passing by Qatar by all means.

The UAE has given Qatari diplomats 48 hours to leave the country after Abu Dhabi accused Doha of “supporting, funding and embracing terrorism, extremism and sectarian organisations,” state news agency WAM said.
UAE’s official news agency WAM tweeted about the move on Twitter. Scroll to Top